Rules of Golf Quiz #7

Jim Ferree, PGA, Head Golf Professional

Answer to Rules Quiz #6

Burt’s ball bounced and struck him in the knee after hitting the bank, but Burt incurs no
penalty. Rule 11.1a states, “If a player’s ball in motion accidentally hits any person (including
the player) or outside influence… there is no penalty to any player. This is true even if the ball
hits the player, the opponent, or any other player or any of their caddies or equipment”.

Rules Quiz #7

What if Burt had purposefully hit the ball with his hand as it bounced back toward him,
and he knocked the ball onto the fringe? Would he be penalized and where would he play his
next shot from?