Rules of Golf Quiz #20
Answer to Rules Quiz #19 In short, Phyllis is mistaken when she thought Brenda would be penalized when her ball bounced off the tree, came back and struck her golf bag. Rule 11.1 states “If a player’s ball in motion accidentally hits any person (including the player) or outside influence … there is no penalty…
Terri’s Tips
DOGS DAYS OF SUMMER Wow, so seems like everyone is getting crazy yardage on their drives! Have they been hitting the gym and taking pointers from Bryson? Maybe / maybe not. Or just maybe it’s the firm fairways and the ball rolling forever? Whatever the reason, now you are faced with a different golf course,…
Terri’s Tips
SNUGGLE UP TO YOUR CHIP SHOTS Being accurate with your chip shots is a sure way to lower your scores. If you have ever taken a lesson or a group class with me you heard me say ‘Snuggle up to your chip’. As like putting the closer you are to your chip shot the more…
Terri’s Tips
How to Hit a Fried Egg Lie Without Cracking Under Pressure Ah, the fried egg lie. It’s the golfing equivalent of biting into a sandwich and realizing you’ve got mustard on your shirt. It’s unexpected, it’s frustrating, and it’s about to test your skills in ways you didn’t know were possible. With the weather and…
Rules of Golf Quiz #18
Answer to Rules Quiz #17 Under the rules Roger was allowed to move the rake his ball was against. Rule 15.2 states“without penalty, a player may remove a movable obstruction anywhere on or off the courseand may do so in any way”. Rules Quiz #18 What if Roger did not replace his ball in its…
Rules of Golf Quiz #17
Answer to Rules Quiz #16 If Cliff had marked his ball before he rotated his ball there wouldn’t be a penalty, but failing topick up his marker before he putted would be a 1-stroke penalty. Rule 14.1 states, “If a playerlifts the ball without marking its spot, marks its spot in a wrong way or…
Rules of Golf Quiz #16
Answer to Rules Quiz #15 The answer to this question is covered in Rule 14 and specifically mentions the requirement to mark a ball at rest before lifting or rotating the ball. According to the Rules of Golf, Cliff was required to mark his ball before he rotated it. The fact that his ball never…
PRACTICE WITH A PURPOSE
HOW DO YOU PRACTICE? Let’s face it, sometimes going to the golf range, standing there just swinging away, ball after ball, can get a bit boring. Especially if you have no idea why you are up there or what you are supposed to be doing. Getting mad, frustrated, no idea why the ball is going…
Rules of Golf Quiz #15
Answer to Rules Quiz #14 The Rules of Golf clearly states that a player must take complete relief from a wrong putting green meaning lie, stance, and intended area of swing. Furthermore, Rule 13.1f specifically states the ball must come to rest in the same area of the course as the reference point. There are…
Rules of Golf Quiz #14
Answer to Rules Quiz #13 Ronald’s tee shot on the 14th hole was pulled left and came to rest on the 17th green. Since he had a pristine lie and a clear line of play to the 14th green, Ronald wanted to play his ball as it lies and not exercise his option to get…