Rules of Golf Quiz #20

Jim Ferree, PGA, Head Golf Professional

Answer to Rules Quiz #19

In short, Phyllis is mistaken when she thought Brenda would be penalized when her ball bounced off the tree, came back and struck her golf bag. Rule 11.1 states “If a player’s ball in motion accidentally hits any person (including the player) or outside influence … there is no penalty to any player.  This is true even if the ball hits the player, the opponent or any other player or any caddies or equipment.”

Rules Quiz #20

In his monthly Club Tournament, Clarence toed his tee shot on the 5th hole sending his ball dead right into the woods only 40 yards off the teeing ground. When he gets to the area where he saw his ball go and begins to search, Clarence decides to go back to the tee and hit a provisional ball since he fears he’ll never find his original ball in the thick woods and leaves. Clarence returns to the teeing ground and proceeds to smash the ball straight down the middle 230 yards. As he heads toward his 2nd tee shot and before his 3-minute time limit to find his original ball is up, another player in Clarence’s group (Mel) finds Clarence’s original ball in the woods. Which ball should Clarence finish the hole with?